Eve and the Spirit of Rebellion

In the same thread, “Connie” had asked where Eve’s rebellion came from. Here’s my answer:

@Connie said: April 26, 2013 at 10:01 AM

I have never heard in sermon or Sunday School lesson that God punished Eve with a spirit of rebellion.

A more accurate phrasing would be that a sin-sick nature was a consequence of Eve’s rebellion in the garden. Sin, by it’s very nature, brings with it an innate rebellion against God’s established authorities.

As Paul wrote to the Romans:

For I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. Now if I do what I do not want, I agree with the law, that it is good. So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. Rom 7:15–20

The sin that Paul writes about for himself is the same sin that Adam and Eve brought into the world.

Is there another Scriptural reference for the spirit of rebellion? It would explain a lot, but I rather thought it was primarily an outgrowth of the societal shift during WWII when so many women had to work and then kept working – and all the years that followed with women in the workplace – so that, being a co-breadwinner, she felt more entitled to have a say in how the money was spent.

What’s happened since WW II, the sexual “revolution”, the advent of cheap and widespread contraception, abortion, and welfare support for single moms is that the social structures that used to keep such behavior at bay have been eroded or even eliminated. In fact, it’s gotten so bad that this “female” version of sinning has contributed to an abundance of male sin, since (for the alphas out there) there’s always a plentiful crop of women who think they’re “just like men” and can do whatever they with whomever they want, with no consequences.

Sadly for these women, research is bearing out that Scripture was right –

Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap. For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life.Gal 6:6–8

About A Northern Observer

Joe Random Guy who lives north of a lot of things. My image is from the National Archives - Battle of Britain - Aircraft spotter on the roof of a building in London. St. Paul's Cathedral is in the background. 306-NT-901B-3. http://www.archives.gov/research/military/ww2/photos/

Leave a Reply

Let Me Reach with Kim Saeed

Narcissistic Abuse Support | Maintaining No Contact | Heal Grow Evolve

veritasetlux2

Truth and Light

Traditional Christianity

A forum by and for those who value orthodoxy and complementarity

Things that We have Heard and Known

Uttering dark sayings from of old.

obdrmama

Childbirth and mothering across ages and cultures

Grace for the road

Seeing God's goodness in the unexpected path.

Empathologism

Vindicate the weak and fatherless; do justice to the afflicted and destitute. Psalm 82:3

The Rational Male

Demystifying intersexual dynamics

Sola Gratia

Sola Fide

Philosophies of a Disenchanted Scholar

Where the truth is served in a bittersweet pill.

Thy Light and Thy Truth

Emítte lucem tuam, et veritáem tuam

WINTERY KNIGHT

...integrating Christian faith and knowledge in the public square

Finer Femininity

Joyful, Feminine, Catholic

Barefoot Whispers

Medical doctor, book-lover, aspirant adventurer

Henry Dampier

On the outer right side of history

Breaking through illusions

Seeing the world with new eyes

